Too Easy Too Good

A couple of weeks ago, my business friend approach me with great confidence and excitement of a business offer back in his home country of East Malaysia. Mr. Ron just about to have taste in the business world. He just resigned from his glamorous jobs working with the royals.

He is a very eager man and very ambitious, just like me when I’m still new to the business. Like a hungry tiger, just want to take any opportunity at first sight. Ok to cut logn story short, Mr Ron told me about a big project in this home country.

The project was to supply computers and do some installation for the commissioning of the computers to state wide school of over 900 schools. The project will worth around RM 60 million. Do you think that is not a good big deal to be true?

I immediately ask him with hesitation, how on earth he can easily get this project and how confident he can accomplished the project in 2 years? First, Mr Ron have no previous experience in the computer field or related to it. Second, he has no big capital fund to kick start the project. It’s just like a wonders he can easily get the project. Then he simply replied to me “I have good connection with the federal guys back in KL, he’s willing to give me the project as long as I can do it. No problem bro, this things is easy. I know what I’m doing.”

Then I asked him in more details of the project, including asking him about the award letter.  Mr Ron can’t give me an assuring answer about the project where he always says to me “if I’m not mistaken” about the project. Then he says “I have to go back to KL to meet the federal guy to discuss on how to get the award letter”.

He then insist to me to arrange a meeting with one of my friend who are more specialized in the computer field. Zaky and his company has done tremendous good job in programming computer softwares in various discipline. The latest being working with one of the local private clinics that has good links with Gleneagles Medical Centre. Zaky create a smart cards for the clinic’s clients to facilitate access to their medical records/history.

Mr Ron and me then finally meet Zaky to discuss the project Mr Ron about to venture. Zaky asked him a lot of pin point question, and he looks fool failed to answer the question directly. Zaky is a professional person and he just entertained my poor friend Mr Ron with some interest to understand Mr Ron character and attitude.

Then just about last Saturday 30th June, I call Mr Ron about the documents and award letter he promised to give it to me and hand-over to Zaky. As to my expectation, he can’t get the project because the federal guys need to see Mr Ron’s company must have at least shows a liquid cash/asset in his company’s account of not less than RM 2.5 million in order to be consider.

I briefly laugh about it and give him a little novice advise to him. I told him to look back and picture himself. I asked him about a scenario of a post as a government minister vacant. It’s a high paying job. I asked him will he applied for that post, and if so, will it make sense for him to take that post and will the government ever consider his application without any experience and background?

0 Responses to “Too Easy Too Good”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment




Hit Counter

Free Web Counters Visitors So Far

.thank U for dropping by.

Wise Words

A man to carry on a successful business must have imagination. He must see things as in a vision, a dream of the whole thing.
- Charles M. Schwab -

My Calendar

July 2007
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The Pasts

Acknowledgement & Gratitude

Many thanks to all the links that I have provided in this personal blog of mine which reflects as examples and for general information purposes only. Thousand apologies for any misunderstanding and non-permission queries that may arise. Please contact Author for any inquiries.

Disclaimer

The information in this blog is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights. The content of this site is my own personal opinions and based on personal accounts. My thoughts and opinions often change and, as a blog is intended to provide a semi-permanent point in time snapshot, you should not consider out of date posts to reflect my current thoughts and opinions. All code samples (if any, ever) are provided "AS IS" without warranty of any kind, either express or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability and/or fitness for a particular purpose.